Rome

I spent the last days of January in Rome. It’s a place I’ve always wanted to go, especially with my degree in Classics and it didn’t disappoint! I walked (till I could walk no more) round endless ruins, drank wine for 1 euro and basked up the Italian sunshine.

062

081

044

Now, Italy is renowned for its fashion but not perhaps for it’s visual merchandising techniques…

068

In this window of 1 metre by 2, they’ve crammed as much into is as humanly possible. Apparently full size shirts take too much room so instead they’ve created tiny imitations of the original garments they have to offer inside. At first glance you’d be forgiven for thinking that this was a place you could pick up a shirt for your dad and your dog…

It’s not what I’d call aesthetically pleasing, but you can’t knock their ingenuity. Their city is full of ancient buildings, one of the characteristics of such is small windows, therefore limiting their display options. It’s interesting to see different cities visual approaches. Still I think I’ll stick with Selfridges…

Leave a Reply

