Reflecting

Around this time last year I was finishing my last EVER university essay and looking forward to my new life as a graduate.  I was realistic, I knew I’d have to move home initially but I was expecting to be there at most 2 months or so until I landed myself with an amazing graduate scheme and lived happily ever after. After getting my results, the graduate scheme dream was no longer be an option, as 90% ask for a minimum of a 2.1 or above. So I went back to the drawing board…

University was great and I’m really glad I went, however it doesn’t really prepare you for the real world. You go from school to University in a little protected bubble, not really thinking past the next essay hand in date. If you ask me, 18 is far too young to choose your degree, a choice that will inevitably affect the rest of your life. I chose my degree because I enjoyed the subject and I was ‘sort of’ good at it. I never took a moment’s consideration into what career I’d get out of it.

This year has been a year of ups and downs and many a learning curve. Fashion has always been my one great love, and this year I have learnt of so many different roles within the industry, that I never knew existed.

From speaking to friends about their University experiences, I feel that the most rewarding degrees are those which have work experience involved. The best time to work for free is whilst you’re at Uni, make the most of those student loans people! As a graduate, with said loans to pay off and council tax to pay it is not as easy to work for free. It’s also a lot easier to get work experience with the help of your University, I have found that applying for internships is as hard/ as unlikely to get as applying for actual paid work.

This is by no means a post on ‘poor me’ rather a post for all you young-un’s out there, I just wanted to give you a piece of advice from someone who’s been there, done that and definitely got a fair few T-shirts. Even though I’m not quite where I want to be, I’m getting there. Every job I’ve had since graduating has taught me something new and more importantly something beneficial. So if, like me, you don’t get the outcome from University that you wanted, make the most of your lot, be creative and don’t give up. It’s all about mind over matter, be positive it will happen.

One thought on “Reflecting

Leave a Reply

