“It’s not where we stand but in what direction we are moving” Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

So I have left the fashion and retail world for that of the NHS, but my dream of a career in fashion is far from over. In fact I believe that my new position of IT services co-ordinator has more transferable skills to a buying and merchandising role than working as a supervisor in Warehouse!

My new job is heavily excel based, something which I have noticed comes up time and time again on application forms. It also involves liaising with/chasing and gathering quotes from suppliers, which will look great on my CV when applying for said roles. As an added bonus, I actually genuinely enjoy the job as well, it’s a really satisfying job plus for the first time in my life I have a job with set hours -I am officially a Monday- Friday 9-5 gal !

I sometimes feel like after graduating there is a lack of direction, or in my case I know which direction I want to go in but the path is particularly hard to climb. However this is the time to explore, go around the path find a new way to your destination or indeed find a new path all together. For example I have always loved writing therefore I am currently looking into writing some  fashion articles or blogs for some local magazines. I am also attempting the Vogue Talent contest, at the end of the day if nothing comes of it then at least I will have enjoyed myself….

As for the immediate future I will be taking the path to The White Pepper, a lovely little boutique in East London. Which is perfect as I will be in the area next weekend. Check out their stuff: http://www.thewhitepepper.com I love the white angel dress they do, I especially like how they’ve styled it with black tights and shoes. Very simple but very effective.

One thought on ““It’s not where we stand but in what direction we are moving” Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

  1. Pingback: Get Tanned… | graduating in style

Leave a Reply

